Reef Central Online Community
Live Aquaria

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/30/2008, 01:18 AM   #26
djfrankie
Moved On
 
djfrankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Miami, South Florida
Posts: 1,370
Quote:
Originally posted by wizsmaster
Yes, very much so. Which one are you using? API?


Which Nitrate test is everybody using here?
I'm using API and Salifert. I haven't notice any difference between the two and both kits are less than 1 month old.

djfrankie


djfrankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 01:29 AM   #27
Bruno3047
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,011
Thanks much for your response, DJ.

Yes, the tank will be a new set-up.

I have one other quick question. With no recirc pump, is the valve on the out-gas necessary? Could I just install a 6" or so piece of rigid airline tubing out the top of the unit to de-gas continuously?

In this way, I could use the input and outputs on the phos-ban unit as they are. I welcome your thoughts.

TIA





I'm tagging alon to seee how your


Bruno3047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 01:32 AM   #28
Bruno3047
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,011
Never finished that last thought.

I'm tagging along to see how you do with your experiments.

Thanks again.


Bruno3047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 01:32 AM   #29
djfrankie
Moved On
 
djfrankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Miami, South Florida
Posts: 1,370
Quote:
Originally posted by Bruno3047
Thanks much for your response, DJ.

Yes, the tank will be a new set-up.

I have one other quick question. With no recirc pump, is the valve on the out-gas necessary? Could I just install a 6" or so piece of rigid airline tubing out the top of the unit to de-gas continuously?

In this way, I could use the input and outputs on the phos-ban unit as they are. I welcome your thoughts.

TIA







I'm tagging alon to seee how your
As long as that airline is higher than your systems waterline it will be ok. Otherwise, you'll drain your tank

djfrankie


djfrankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 01:41 AM   #30
Bruno3047
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,011
I guess I should have known that.

That's 2 I owe you.

Tks.


Bruno3047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 01:46 AM   #31
Bruno3047
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,011
OK. Last question, I promise.

So I could use the input and output elbows on the Phosban unit as they are, but I would have to install a short standpipe or nipple coming out the top of the unit with a valve at the end?


Bruno3047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 04:13 AM   #32
djfrankie
Moved On
 
djfrankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Miami, South Florida
Posts: 1,370
Quote:
Originally posted by Bruno3047
OK. Last question, I promise.

So I could use the input and output elbows on the Phosban unit as they are, but I would have to install a short standpipe or nipple coming out the top of the unit with a valve at the end?
That should work. Check out Steve's unit for some ideas. I believe his unit is working pretty good.

You can use a John Guest or similar valve on the degassing line since it allows for quick opening / closing.

Have fun!

djfrankie

ps. I'll be out of town for the weekend.


djfrankie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 09:51 AM   #33
EnderG60
Plumbing Engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 3,200
Quote:
Originally posted by djfrankie
I'm using API and Salifert. I haven't notice any difference between the two and both kits are less than 1 month old.

djfrankie
interesting. when I though my nitrates were 0 on the API kit I tested it with my seachem kit and it showed 2-4.

Seems like for 10 and under the seachem is better, and 10 and over the API is better.

But even with the seachem kit anything between .5-2 is hard to read.

Man I hate color charts, must increase income and get digital testers


EnderG60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 09:56 AM   #34
wizsmaster
Moved On
 
wizsmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ft. Myers, SW FL - USA
Posts: 1,635
LaMotte makes a sweet digital field tester ... tests up to 16 different parameters i think


wizsmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 09:56 AM   #35
wizsmaster
Moved On
 
wizsmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ft. Myers, SW FL - USA
Posts: 1,635
Thank You saltydog. I was unaware of that, and my reading was direct. Good to know!


wizsmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 10:10 AM   #36
reef_only
Registered Member
 
reef_only's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: norcal
Posts: 353
My effluent from denitrator gives <1ppm on NO3 after 3 days w/ 1 dps. It was 50ppm after 1day and 40ppm after the second day. I'll wait for 12hours and will bump it to 2dps. Everything is working well so far.


reef_only is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 06:38 PM   #37
skippyreef
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: under the sea
Posts: 1,227
COngrats Reef_only!!!


__________________
Anacroporamademepoora

Current Tank Info: 270 gallon Reef
skippyreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 06:50 PM   #38
Black71gp
Registered Member
 
Black71gp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,255
one thing i noticed is that now i get WAY less gass building up... i am still at 1dps and no recirc pump for the moment..


__________________
Jarrod
MASM president

Current Tank Info: 315 reef... with a 900 gallon lagoon. and 100 gallon skimmer :)
Black71gp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 06:56 PM   #39
Steve 926
Registered Member
 
Steve 926's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ.
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally posted by Black71gp
one thing i noticed is that now i get WAY less gass building up... i am still at 1dps and no recirc pump for the moment..
Hang in there


__________________
Experience is something you don't get, until just after you need it .

Current Tank Info: Small in nature (50gal. Reef) Large in Heart. Re-occurring dream of a 300 gal.
Steve 926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/30/2008, 07:11 PM   #40
Steven M
Registered Member
 
Steven M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 1,109
What is the white slime that forms when the reactor is not adjusted right?



Steven M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2008, 07:43 AM   #41
saltydog64
Registered Member
 
saltydog64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UpState NY
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally posted by wizsmaster
Thank You saltydog. I was unaware of that, and my reading was direct. Good to know!
wiz.........Your very welcome and continued good luck with your project.

A quick thought on the LaMotte Nitrate kit, as you know the range(s) on it is : 0.25 0.5 1.0 2.0 4.0 6.0 8.0 and 10.0 Nitrate-Nitrogen, now your tank @ 0.25 is great, but what do we do when our tanks are outside these ranges ? we can use the LaMotte kit to determine higher Nitrates by simply diluting the sample with Nitrate free water such distilled water, for example let's say our tank water is over 44.0 ppm(the limit of the kit) and we still want use it, what you do is take, for example, 10 cc of the tank water and add 90 cc of distilled water for 100 cc total. You know have a 10% sample, test it, we get let's say 4.0 on scale, to determine actual Nitrate we would do the math... 4.0 X 10 X 4.4 = 176 ppm.

Now keep in mind this procedure is only as accurate as the care taken in the prep of the sample(s) but it works and still allows us to use our LaMotte kits in these higher ranges, hopefully you will never be in that range, but trust me, there are those who are, me for example


saltydog64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2008, 08:02 AM   #42
wizsmaster
Moved On
 
wizsmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ft. Myers, SW FL - USA
Posts: 1,635
Great info - Thanks!

Do you use the full line on LaMotte tests?

I just picked up the Nitrate, Calcium & Alk tests .. have had the Phosphate one for a while.
The Calcium is the only one that stinks, since it needs distilled water for the test.


wizsmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2008, 08:59 AM   #43
Steve 926
Registered Member
 
Steve 926's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ.
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally posted by Steven M
What is the white slime that forms when the reactor is not adjusted right?
I'm sure that you know it is a form of bacteria, which one, is a good guess ?

I noticed that you are mixing the sulfur & ARM media together.
If so, I can only guess that the sulfur, can not act as a full strength biological separate media in mass. The ARM is to buffer the effluent only, & a good chance causing your problem being mixed in with the sulfur.

Doing the research on several commercially sold units, you will find that each media has a separate mass volume within the reactor

JMO, but I think that it is something to consider.

Good Luck

Steve




__________________
Experience is something you don't get, until just after you need it .

Current Tank Info: Small in nature (50gal. Reef) Large in Heart. Re-occurring dream of a 300 gal.
Steve 926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2008, 03:36 PM   #44
kcress
Registered Member
 
kcress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central California Coast.
Posts: 5,383
Steve; nice theory. Seems like a good one.

Speaking of theories. I have been thinking on the mush angle. Since all this pelletized sulfur claims to be 99.x% pure I honestly can't see how one can be different from the next. You couldn't put some binder in, for instance and still have that kind of purity.

I think the mush people are getting is because they are allowing the sulfur to move. In short order it grinds itself to mush and that leads to clogged outlets too.


kcress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2008, 03:53 PM   #45
Steve 926
Registered Member
 
Steve 926's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ.
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally posted by kcress
Steve; nice theory. Seems like a good one.

Speaking of theories. I have been thinking on the mush angle. Since all this pelletized sulfur claims to be 99.x% pure I honestly can't see how one can be different from the next. You couldn't put some binder in, for instance and still have that kind of purity.

I think the mush people are getting is because they are allowing the sulfur to move. In short order it grinds itself to mush and that leads to clogged outlets too.
Possible, But I believe that the peletized media is formed under pressure to compact the sulfur to it's size. The compacted media will allow less dispersion & dilution. One reason to using the pelletized media is to prevent chanelling, which seems to be a problem with the LSM media, & the higher rate of dispersion ( melting) with it.

Steve






__________________
Experience is something you don't get, until just after you need it .

Current Tank Info: Small in nature (50gal. Reef) Large in Heart. Re-occurring dream of a 300 gal.
Steve 926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2008, 03:59 PM   #46
ReefingBuddha
Registered Member
 
ReefingBuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Winterpark, FL
Posts: 1,382
I had an interesting extra to throw in. I had a sales rep out with a colorimeter a few weeks ago and one of the only tests she had with her was a sulfide test. I tested my water and the sulfide was through the roof... can't remember the exact amount but enough to significantly worry me. I tested it again a couple of weeks ago after the reactor had been offline for a few weeks and it had dropped significantly.

Just thought I would mention that. Obviously some of the media was making it back into my tank even though it wasn't fluidized and therefore rubbing up against itself.

Just thought i would throw that in there as its something I never test and had the opportunity to.


__________________
-Tom

Current Tank Info: Starting a new 300g In-wall, 600g system
ReefingBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2008, 04:03 PM   #47
Steve 926
Registered Member
 
Steve 926's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ.
Posts: 558
What media were you using in you reactor.?



Steve




__________________
Experience is something you don't get, until just after you need it .

Current Tank Info: Small in nature (50gal. Reef) Large in Heart. Re-occurring dream of a 300 gal.
Steve 926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2008, 05:06 PM   #48
Bruno3047
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,011
Suilfide in the form that it would exist in the SW aquarium would be in the form of Hydrogen Sulfide (H2S), the presence of which is accompanied by a distinct smell of rotten eggs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrogen_sulfide

So, unless your house smells of rotton eggs, I wouldn't worry.

Tell your sales rep to throw out the rest of her sulfide test reagents. They're obviously expired.


Bruno3047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2008, 05:30 PM   #49
Black71gp
Registered Member
 
Black71gp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,255
so since i added all the new sulfur should I run my recirc pump or not? with out it running i get VERY little gas build up.. with it running I get lots of gas build up???


__________________
Jarrod
MASM president

Current Tank Info: 315 reef... with a 900 gallon lagoon. and 100 gallon skimmer :)
Black71gp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/31/2008, 05:47 PM   #50
ReefingBuddha
Registered Member
 
ReefingBuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Winterpark, FL
Posts: 1,382
aqua medic media


__________________
-Tom

Current Tank Info: Starting a new 300g In-wall, 600g system
ReefingBuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:56 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.