Reef Central Online Community
Neptune Systems

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/16/2018, 05:15 AM   #1551
Nickyfish
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 64
hello my tank has just finished cycle

right not nothing but live rock and some hermits and snails in tank
want to start adding items now

how should i set the light settings to start with

120 gallon
1 ap700
1 current


__________________
Nick I
Sports Rings One
S.I. N.Y.
Nickyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/16/2018, 02:51 PM   #1552
nly04
Registered Member
 
nly04's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Union City, SF bay area
Posts: 892
Will 2ea AP700 efficient to cover a 48”x30” tank? I am thinking to switch out my radion to AP700.


nly04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/20/2018, 11:30 PM   #1553
harvin6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by sil40sx View Post
Couple months 100% now:

how many units of ap700 and what is the size of yourr tank?


harvin6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/23/2018, 06:43 AM   #1554
Boochika
Registered Member
 
Boochika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 153
I'm sure this has already been answered has anyone else ran into issues with they're kessil light mounts touching water surface? I ysed the plastic mount it came with to raise the light to stop it from happening but it's still annoying and makes the mount less stable.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk


__________________
Tunze 9410 Skimmer, Syncra Silent 4.0, Herbie method (Bottom Drilled), 30 gallon sump.

Anyone know about assessor fish? Seems cool but I haven't seen much about them on the forum

Current Tank Info: 80 gallon with a couple clowns and CUC for now. Will populate with more after my summer vacation

Last edited by Boochika; 06/01/2018 at 09:54 PM.
Boochika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/27/2018, 03:30 AM   #1555
Nickyfish
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by nly04 View Post
Will 2ea AP700 efficient to cover a 48x30 tank? I am thinking to switch out my radion to AP700.
I have 1AP700 and a 48" current led and i am happy so far and I think i could do without the current


__________________
Nick I
Sports Rings One
S.I. N.Y.
Nickyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/01/2018, 07:04 PM   #1556
manilaboy1vic
Registered Member
 
manilaboy1vic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Surf City USA
Posts: 215
I just installed an AP700 today.. coming from 1x360we and 2x160s..

i also got a PMK..

tank is:

DT dimensions: 68g 35.5(l) x 19.5(w) x 21.5(h)

light is like 5" above the water... have it set at 80%.. put a new monticap in there where the reading is 250+ Par..

moved my susnet monti off the bottom which was not getting enough light with my previous setup.. and those were at 85 intensity.. with the sunset monti directly below the a360 and at 85%, the par was a barely 200.. i should of maxed out the intensity on the pucks but was too excited for the ap700..

having the pmk is so helpful in coral placement.. like just eyeballing it seems so sketchy.. at least now i know the par reading of where i have stuff..


manilaboy1vic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/01/2018, 09:53 PM   #1557
Boochika
Registered Member
 
Boochika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 153
Did you buy or borrow par meter?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk


__________________
Tunze 9410 Skimmer, Syncra Silent 4.0, Herbie method (Bottom Drilled), 30 gallon sump.

Anyone know about assessor fish? Seems cool but I haven't seen much about them on the forum

Current Tank Info: 80 gallon with a couple clowns and CUC for now. Will populate with more after my summer vacation
Boochika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/04/2018, 11:19 AM   #1558
scottbeyer101
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: 06840
Posts: 17
Only 240 PAR at 8"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thor2j View Post
I have 2 on a 60" tank. 9 hours of light, 5 max at 71%. 9 inches off water. PAR 8 inches below water line is only about 240.
My tank is 59X22X22 and currently running 3 X Hydra 26. My acros are telling me not enough or very spotty PAR so been lurking this forum.

Read the first 36 pages and finally started at the end working back and saw your PAR numbers. Find 240 surprisingly low for 8" deep. Better than my Hydras ~200. Likely much better dispersion as well.

But two questions:
a) are you running a lense?
b) if you have SPS dominant, how they liking it?


__________________
__________________________________________________________________________
Mixed Reef RSR 525XL, APEX, 3 X Hydra 26, Sicce SDC 9 return, MP 40, Maxspect
scottbeyer101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/04/2018, 01:32 PM   #1559
joshmun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 11
Anyone having success on smaller tanks ~50g? Only saw one reply to my last note. Im running it at 12 above. 35% peak.


joshmun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/04/2018, 01:51 PM   #1560
Boochika
Registered Member
 
Boochika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottbeyer101 View Post
My tank is 59X22X22 and currently running 3 X Hydra 26. My acros are telling me not enough or very spotty PAR so been lurking this forum.

Read the first 36 pages and finally started at the end working back and saw your PAR numbers. Find 240 surprisingly low for 8" deep. Better than my Hydras ~200. Likely much better dispersion as well.

But two questions:
a) are you running a lense?
b) if you have SPS dominant, how they liking it?
What are you using to measure par?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk


__________________
Tunze 9410 Skimmer, Syncra Silent 4.0, Herbie method (Bottom Drilled), 30 gallon sump.

Anyone know about assessor fish? Seems cool but I haven't seen much about them on the forum

Current Tank Info: 80 gallon with a couple clowns and CUC for now. Will populate with more after my summer vacation
Boochika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/04/2018, 03:18 PM   #1561
Thor2j
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottbeyer101 View Post
My tank is 59X22X22 and currently running 3 X Hydra 26. My acros are telling me not enough or very spotty PAR so been lurking this forum.

Read the first 36 pages and finally started at the end working back and saw your PAR numbers. Find 240 surprisingly low for 8" deep. Better than my Hydras ~200. Likely much better dispersion as well.

But two questions:
a) are you running a lense?
b) if you have SPS dominant, how they liking it?
No lense.

Mixed reef. Sps doing pretty well. Think they could use a little more light but worried about some of the Lps and others. May inch it up a little soon.

I still have plenty of room to turn the intensity up.


Thor2j is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06/07/2018, 08:29 AM   #1562
chevythang92
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by svandive View Post
Im starting up a new 180 60x24x25. I have two ap700 at 10 over the surface and am getting about 174 par at the sand bed. This tank will mainly be sps with a few lps at the sand bed. 13 hour photo period with a 4 hour peak at 100%. Been acclimating my corals as Ive been adding them.

I dont have any T5 supplementation however I do have two Hydra 26 lights I have been thinking about adding to supplement the middle section. Basically move the ap700s to the edge and fill in the middle with the hydras.

One thing I really wish for is a better app experience. I can not believe how poorly the app for these lights functions. I can never get these lights to stay in sync (clocks) nor stay connected (both of them) to the app. I fire up the app and after the long wait time to find the lights, the app 85% of the time only finds one.... frustrating from such a great hardware manufacture....
any updates on your ap700 . i will be hanging 2 ap700 myself with a aquatic life hybrid .

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


chevythang92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/07/2018, 08:58 AM   #1563
svandive
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevythang92 View Post
any updates on your ap700 . i will be hanging 2 ap700 myself with a aquatic life hybrid .

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
So I tried the Hydras but trying to get a good color match was way too much of a hassle. I have since purchased a Kessil A360WE and have this mounted int he center between the two AP700. The color matches and the spread is fantastic. I love this setup now.


svandive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2018, 01:30 AM   #1564
Nickyfish
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 64
is there a way or place to download programs for ap700


__________________
Nick I
Sports Rings One
S.I. N.Y.
Nickyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/15/2018, 10:21 PM   #1565
sil40sx
Registered Member
 
sil40sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 612
Quote:
Originally Posted by harvin6 View Post
how many units of ap700 and what is the size of yourr tank?
Just one on a 36" tank.

But I have 2 x 39w T5 for supplement.


sil40sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/16/2018, 03:32 AM   #1566
Nickyfish
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 64
I have AP700 and a 48”currentnorbot led on my 120 and it’s mint


__________________
Nick I
Sports Rings One
S.I. N.Y.
Nickyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2018, 08:55 PM   #1567
CTaylor
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 894
Hi,
I didnt see where anyone had a fix for the flicker question. Early yesterday morning (9 am) the light flickered on and off. It's set to go on at 11 am. This is still with the light going off randomly in the day. It doesnt seem to be tied with color changing/spectrum. I work at home so I see this happening. I do not think it's happened at night after 7 pm for some reason. So most people with these lights that do not work at home will have no idea if this is happening. I'll contact kessil, unless someone knows how to fix it.

Thanks


CTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2018, 09:34 PM   #1568
Boochika
Registered Member
 
Boochika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTaylor View Post
Hi,
I didnt see where anyone had a fix for the flicker question. Early yesterday morning (9 am) the light flickered on and off. It's set to go on at 11 am. This is still with the light going off randomly in the day. It doesnt seem to be tied with color changing/spectrum. I work at home so I see this happening. I do not think it's happened at night after 7 pm for some reason. So most people with these lights that do not work at home will have no idea if this is happening. I'll contact kessil, unless someone knows how to fix it.

Thanks
I've seen this occasionally but like you stated mine is when it's between spectrums. I haven't noticed it otherwise. Also since I set my own program and light has been up a while I haven't noticed it in a while

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk


__________________
Tunze 9410 Skimmer, Syncra Silent 4.0, Herbie method (Bottom Drilled), 30 gallon sump.

Anyone know about assessor fish? Seems cool but I haven't seen much about them on the forum

Current Tank Info: 80 gallon with a couple clowns and CUC for now. Will populate with more after my summer vacation
Boochika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/22/2018, 11:32 PM   #1569
CTaylor
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 894
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boochika View Post
I've seen this occasionally but like you stated mine is when it's between spectrums. I haven't noticed it otherwise. Also since I set my own program and light has been up a while I haven't noticed it in a while

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Boochika, are you home about all day to see if it flickers and when? My tank is right by my desk. It happens in 'spurts' of days that it happens, many days on end it doesnt (from what I can tell, and I'd see 90% of it since I'm right next to it). I'll check the times it happens again, but I"m pretty sure its not at lighting changes. If I didnt work at home I'd say it never happens at all.
The part that is bothersome more is when I saw it flash on then off when it was in night mode.


CTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/23/2018, 02:24 AM   #1570
minus9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I'm in the Valley, Dude!
Posts: 728
What's the incoming voltage to the house? I had an issue with one of my AP700's not turning on or working. I thought I had a bad light, come to find out, my voltage was really low. My apex was giving me voltage errors, so I had the local utility company come and check the mains, sure enough the voltage was only 107 and below. After some work at the local substation, the voltage is back to normal (for the most part, still a little high in the mornings).
As I was prepared to ship the light back to Kessil, I noticed the voltage adjustment(s) on the driver. So I decided to turn it all the way down, then turn two points clockwise, plugged everything in and it worked. Somehow the voltage adjustment was set too high on the driver and that's why it didn't power on. The drivers are adjustable from 100v to 217v (or something close to that?), so it could be the reason why these lights flicker? Not enough voltage depending on the adjustment.
Worth a look? Good luck and keep us posted.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


minus9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06/23/2018, 05:49 AM   #1571
RedStangGA
Registered Member
 
RedStangGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,054
I've had mine flicker off during the day but haven't noticed it flicker on. I also work from home and have 2 AP700's over the tank by my desk.

The flickering off doesn't happen all the time. Remapping the lights in the app seems to temporarily fix the issue for me. Sometimes lol!


__________________
Marineland 220, Marineland 60 Cube
RedStangGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/23/2018, 05:55 AM   #1572
markster33139
Registered Member
 
markster33139's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 357
Quite a few people including myself have experienced this. Mine will actually turn on briefly for about 2 seconds on the odd occasion in the morning when it is supposed to be off. I spoke with the Kessil reps at Reefapalooza Orlando and they had no solutions or suggestions other than to return the light (which was only a couple weeks old when I first noticed this). I contacted Kessil and they seem to be aware of the problem, but could also offer no solutions. Hopefully they are working on a fix for this with a firmware update.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk


__________________
Creating the island life
markster33139 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/25/2018, 02:56 PM   #1573
Leahfish
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
Mine flickers too but it's not really a big deal to me.


Leahfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/25/2018, 03:49 PM   #1574
CTaylor
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 894
MIne is not at the light color changes. It might be a big deal though to the corals etc to have it flash on in middle of night. That I dont know. I had it happen for long periods of time, going off, I had to send it back. I'm thinking/guessing could be a heating issue, which might not be good for the light long term. I'll ask Kessil whats going on before my warranty ends.


CTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/25/2018, 03:51 PM   #1575
CTaylor
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 894
Saw this one after I posted my very recent post. I'll look into those things also .
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by minus9 View Post
What's the incoming voltage to the house? I had an issue with one of my AP700's not turning on or working. I thought I had a bad light, come to find out, my voltage was really low. My apex was giving me voltage errors, so I had the local utility company come and check the mains, sure enough the voltage was only 107 and below. After some work at the local substation, the voltage is back to normal (for the most part, still a little high in the mornings).
As I was prepared to ship the light back to Kessil, I noticed the voltage adjustment(s) on the driver. So I decided to turn it all the way down, then turn two points clockwise, plugged everything in and it worked. Somehow the voltage adjustment was set too high on the driver and that's why it didn't power on. The drivers are adjustable from 100v to 217v (or something close to that?), so it could be the reason why these lights flicker? Not enough voltage depending on the adjustment.
Worth a look? Good luck and keep us posted.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



CTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.