Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 02/24/2019, 06:07 PM   #26
dkeller_nc
Registered Member
 
dkeller_nc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central NC
Posts: 5,074
Yes of course - the conversions are easy to do on the bench. Very occasionally I get out the stir plate, buret, standardized HCl and pH meter and do titrations when I'm dialing in a tank.

But with Pacific Sun's device, there's going to be a conversion factor that accounts for the test volume and the normality of the acid solution. So one would need to know what the normality of the acid solution is to simply buy some from another vendor.


dkeller_nc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/24/2019, 07:37 PM   #27
mrtint
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vista (San Diego county)
Posts: 180
Pacific Sun Kore 7th kHLab Fanclub - Alkalinity Test and Control

I actually have a few straight forward questions. The ones above are above my pay grade

1) I currently use a kore 5th. Can I run both a kore 5th and kore 7th on same computer will the new software WiFi and old software BT work correctly if both software programs are installed on same computer? Currently my kore 5th and Hyperion lights have no issue so assume this will not be a problem.
2) I currently have a AC2 calc Feeder that DOES NOT have a PH probe. Will this be a problem
3) The solution used in the KLab. Is it available in the US
4) Is my calcium reactor still needed



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


mrtint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2019, 01:19 AM   #28
egareef
Registered Member
 
egareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 29
Hello Przemek,

It is already solved, the problem is in the field Reference KH, apparently has a value when opening the application (in my case 8.00), but it is really zero or null. That's why he gives the error.

Is it really necessary to put that value? or it's just a value to compare.

Regards


egareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2019, 01:31 AM   #29
egareef
Registered Member
 
egareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 29
Hello Przemek,

I have two solenoids, one controlled by the CalcFeeder and another connected to the Kore 7th, I have marked the option within the KHLab menu (Calcium reactor control (by solenoid)).

How many KH tests would be needed per day?
How many l/h should be put in the CalcFeeder Pro Controler?

I guess you have to put the two solenoids in line, and only CO2 will pass when both are open. Can they be damaged if one of them is open waiting for the other?

Please, You could explain the procedure to connect the kore 7th KH-Lab with the CalcFeeder Pro reactor.

Thanks for all.


egareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2019, 02:41 PM   #30
Przemek_PacSun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 647
Hi,
More tests - better precision and system reaction is faster.

Before you will allow for controlling reactor by kHLab you need firstly find best flow which will make your alkalinity quite stable within few days. After that you can connect it to Kore 7th and allow for reactor control(switch on/off Co2 flow) depending from set alkalinity on application.
Only what you need to do is connecting additional solenoid valve (connected to Kore 7th) between CalcFeeder PRO controller and original solenoid (connected to calcium controller) .
Thats all.

Regards

Przemek


__________________
Home for Advanced Technology...
www.Pacific-Sun.eu
Przemek_PacSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2019, 02:44 PM   #31
Przemek_PacSun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtint View Post
I actually have a few straight forward questions. The ones above are above my pay grade

1) I currently use a kore 5th. Can I run both a kore 5th and kore 7th on same computer will the new software WiFi and old software BT work correctly if both software programs are installed on same computer? Currently my kore 5th and Hyperion lights have no issue so assume this will not be a problem.
2) I currently have a AC2 calc Feeder that DOES NOT have a PH probe. Will this be a problem
3) The solution used in the KLab. Is it available in the US
4) Is my calcium reactor still needed

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
1. Yes, you can use - for Kore 7th you will need install dedicated app(expand in manual) and it wil create additional COM port on application. On one you will have Kore 5th, on second - Kore 7th

2. CalcFeeders font use pH probe - if you mean "lid with pH probe port" - it's not needed for calcium reactor work .

3. Not yet, but we hope that shortly will be(too soon to talk about that).

4. ? :-)


__________________
Home for Advanced Technology...
www.Pacific-Sun.eu
Przemek_PacSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2019, 09:49 PM   #32
mrtint
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vista (San Diego county)
Posts: 180
So what is you recommendation for #3. Wait till itís available in the US before we order the KLab or order a 6 month supply at a time

My question for #4 is. Does the KLab increase and decrease the ALK using the calfeeder or a solution


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


mrtint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/26/2019, 02:35 AM   #33
Montireef
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 335
Kore 7th + KLab can control either a calcium reactor or dose a 3-part solution to manage alkalinity, calcium and important elements such as magnesium. You can select thw way you want to use it: if you choose calcium reactor, it will control CO2 valve, if you choose a 3-part solution you will use pumps #4-7


Montireef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/27/2019, 10:54 AM   #34
egareef
Registered Member
 
egareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 29
Hi,

I have a doubt,

When the solenoid connected to kore 7th is activated?

1.- When the calculated KH is below the target
2.- When the calculated KH is below the minimum

This occurs once the test is done or it is evaluated every so often.

Regards


egareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/27/2019, 06:50 PM   #35
mrtint
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vista (San Diego county)
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montireef View Post
Kore 7th + KLab can control either a calcium reactor or dose a 3-part solution to manage alkalinity, calcium and important elements such as magnesium. You can select thw way you want to use it: if you choose calcium reactor, it will control CO2 valve, if you choose a 3-part solution you will use pumps #4-7


I donít completely understand how it controls the AC2. If the kore 7th controls the amount of CO2 that is injected into the calcium reactor..... that would lower the PH to break down the media BUT that wouldnít increase the calfeeder pump to dose more effluent. Unless the kore 7th now controls the dosing of the effluent from the calcium reactor?
I think I saw a post that the manual can be downloaded...... I should probably read this


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


mrtint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/28/2019, 11:36 AM   #36
Przemek_PacSun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 647
Solenoid will be open till calculated dKH will be above maximum kH.
If you will connect buffer(alkalinity solution) to channel 4 - it will dose emergency doses when alkalinity will drop below emergency kH.
If CO2 is switched off from CalcFeeder - it will stop also dosing pump so there is no any effluent dosed to aquarium when alkalinity is higher then desired.
The best solution how to control our calcium reactor by kHLab is adjusting feeding pump little higher than it's required by tank - and doser can switch it on/off keeping alkalinity stable in proper range.


__________________
Home for Advanced Technology...
www.Pacific-Sun.eu
Przemek_PacSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/06/2019, 04:41 AM   #37
egareef
Registered Member
 
egareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 29
Hi,

Is it possible to do a factory reset? that is, you have to reconfigure everything, including the kore's internal network.

Regards

Enviado desde mi Mi A1 mediante Tapatalk


egareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/07/2019, 03:53 PM   #38
Przemek_PacSun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 647
Please contact with our technical support. You can simply switch off your local WIFI network and reboot Kore 7th - it will wake up in AP mode and you can set everything what you want.
Please drop mail to [email protected]

Regards

Przemek


__________________
Home for Advanced Technology...
www.Pacific-Sun.eu
Przemek_PacSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/12/2019, 09:44 PM   #39
Rares728
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Hello,

Calibration performed easily and having consistent results. Everything was just fine till KH testing, then a lot of blockage during "Reagent checking" - what is this ? (nothing found in manual about). If somehow passed this step, then reagent dosing was everything else than value saved (calibrated one: 10,29 in my case). I got once DKH0.29, and twice over 14.
What is the KH reference ? Is a measurment or a theorethical value added for offset purpose ?

Please , help

Thank you !
Rares


Rares728 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/13/2019, 09:21 AM   #40
egareef
Registered Member
 
egareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 29
Hello,

the reference kh is a value that you put, you have to do a test with salifert, redsea, etc. and configure that value.

Then every time you do a test the kore will give you the value that would give you with salifert, etc.

Enviado desde mi Mi A1 mediante Tapatalk


egareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/14/2019, 10:49 AM   #41
Rares728
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Thank you , egareef !

Indeed, it is an external reference, a redundat checking. It has no impact on KH determination.

But, "Reagent checking" has an issue- that's the point i'm blocking and program stopping by message "Reagent check error"


Rares728 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/14/2019, 12:39 PM   #42
egareef
Registered Member
 
egareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 29
Where does that error appear?

Enviado desde mi Mi A1 mediante Tapatalk


egareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/16/2019, 06:36 AM   #43
PacSun Service
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 82
Hello

Rares728 - as I know from our service you have already fixed your problem, could you confirm that all work properly now or you need any more help with configuration of KH Lab?

Best regards
Pacific Sun Service.


PacSun Service is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/23/2019, 06:28 AM   #44
egareef
Registered Member
 
egareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 29
Hi,

Hi,

Well, I have everything working correctly.

The Kore 7th is perfectly controlling the calcFeeder reactor to keep KH as stable as possible.

I will update the information.

Przemek thanks for all

Enviado desde mi Mi A1 mediante Tapatalk


egareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/23/2019, 10:54 AM   #45
Przemek_PacSun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 647
Hello Ega
Thank you for your update! :-)

Best regards

Przemek


__________________
Home for Advanced Technology...
www.Pacific-Sun.eu
Przemek_PacSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/01/2019, 05:42 AM   #46
Rares728
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by PacSun Service View Post
Hello

Rares728 - as I know from our service you have already fixed your problem, could you confirm that all work properly now or you need any more help with configuration of KH Lab?

Best regards
Pacific Sun Service.
Hello,

Sorry for very late feedback - i just wanted to check and be sure about more things i've been changed (setup).
I can confirm that everything is working fine !!! I'm using intesively and i'm fully pleased about Kore 7th KK Lab !
In my case, it seems that stirrer was blocked and didn't done the service, therefore PH incremental measuring was not performed. Currently, the magnetic stirrer speed is 95.
In automatic mode is correcting KH level very well - it has won my trust :-) . In fact, i have so much trust in, that a week ago, when i have changed the recipe of basic additive elements (Alc, Ca & Mg), i let the KH Lab to do the fine tuning. It's working ! Of course, in first two weeks i was double checking the alcalinity by Hanna (772), Salifert and AF. I can say , now, that according to my test kits Hanna and KH Lab are differentiated by hundreds (0.0#DKH) while AF showing a constant bias of + 0.15-0.25 and +0.20-0.30 in Salifert case. But Salifert and AF are up to my way of testing, maybe last two drops werent necesary to fully change coloration. However, i'm considering to got very good and robust measured values - fully trusted now. I'm wondering how will metain this accuracy and constancy over time ... we'll see in couple of months.
Since the main goal was achieved , i think that from now on i can have a look over the minor thinks that may be subjects for minor improvements:
- chart on PC software is not showing the past values, just in the table
- PH readings were blocking some times ( the next reading after first calibration at 4.00)
- Android version is not yet showing a chart with values - but is ok for a trend visualization
- reset button is acting wird when should enter in a boot mode (for Firmware upgrade)
- automatic KH determination is not working if the PC software is connected and runing same time
Note: i'm using a 64bits W7 verssion -if this may have an impact

Not much to say about pump's accuracy or material's quality as weren't any time a concern. All hardware is rated very positive (*****).

Overall, imho, Kore 7th KH Lab is best device for its money


Rares728 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/06/2019, 03:00 PM   #47
Przemek_PacSun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 647
Hi, Im sorry - I missed your post.
Thank you for feedback - and Im really happy that's working good.
About udates:
- charts - on Windows and Android app - it will use another libraries, more flexible. We plan also Mac OS app after iOS release.
- pH readings - we will check it, we not received similar report but maybe something is released with last app.
- Android - as above, new charts and functions soon!

Within next two weeks we will have FINALLY! - iOS app for Kore 7th kHLab and Android app update with new style Google charts.
I promise to update this thread with information about that important release!

Regards

Przemek


__________________
Home for Advanced Technology...
www.Pacific-Sun.eu
Przemek_PacSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/10/2019, 03:41 AM   #48
egareef
Registered Member
 
egareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 29
Hi,

Two suggestions:

When you enter the application could you check if there is a new update?

Also put a log with the changes when the versions are updated.

Regards


egareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2019, 01:46 AM   #49
PacSun Service
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 82
Hello
@egareef - now when application and firmware is free from bugs, updates will not be needed so often. Also bigger Firmware/application updates are announced on our facebook group .

Best regards
Pacific Sun Service.


PacSun Service is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2019, 02:27 AM   #50
egareef
Registered Member
 
egareef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by PacSun Service View Post
Hello
@egareef - now when application and firmware is free from bugs, updates will not be needed so often. Also bigger Firmware/application updates are announced on our facebook group .

Best regards
Pacific Sun Service.
Ok, but I don't have a Facebook account.


egareef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:46 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.